Remember the time I hosted two Thanksgivings?? Yeah… It was a busy week! Anyway, for one of them I decided to take another crack at a cheesecake, since my first one was a little less than satisfactory.

I AM SO GLAD I DID!!

This cheesecake just sounded so good and like a great combination of flavors. The recipe differs quite a bit from the first one I tried, so it was nice to learn what a few differences can do to drastically change a cake. I was a little skeptical about the last step during baking, but it all worked out so perfectly. This cheesecake was light and delicious and literally melted in your mouth. MMMMmmmm. Success!

 

NY Style Cheesecake with Cherries and a Gingersnap Crust

 Ingredients
4 cups ground gingersnap cookies
3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
3 8-ounce bars cream cheese, at room temperature
1 1/4 cups sugar
2 large eggs
2 cups sour cream
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 can cherry pie filling

Directions

Heat oven to 350° F.

1.) In a medium bowl, combine the ground gingersnaps and butter. I actually prefer to grind the cookies and the butter together in my food processor. It really helps and eliminates the work of grinding the cookies.

2. ) Press the mixture into the bottom and up the side of a 9-inch springform pan.

3.) Beat  the cream cheese and 1 cup of the sugar until smooth.

4.)  Beat in the eggs, one at a time.

5.) Beat in ½ a cup of the sour cream and 1 teaspoon of the vanilla.

6.) Pour the mixture into the crust and bake until set, about 40 to 45 minutes.

7.) Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine the remaining 1 ½ cups of sour cream, ¼ cup of sugar, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla.

8.) Spread over the hot cheesecake and bake until set, about 5 minutes more.

9.) Let cool in the pan, then refrigerate for at least 4 hours.

10.) Spread the cherries over the cheesecake just before serving.

Voila! This recipe really created the cheesecake I’d been wanting. I plan on coming back to it again and again. And the Gingersnap crust was divine and added a really nice flavor to the cake. YUM.

Just for fun, here is my friend Stephanie excitedly waiting for her slice!

And this is me and my husband after dinner.

I found this recipe on RealSimple.com.

