So – I’ve been sick. Like really really sick. LIKE TOO SICK TO BAKE DELICIOUS THINGS AND THEN BLOG ABOUT THEM SICK! D-:

I’m starting to feel better, but I’m still all sorts of snotty and exHAUSTED.

Anyway – on Saturday I had the CRAZIEST need to bake SOMETHING. I couldn’t bake anything that would make a large batch because I couldn’t share it. I was super contagious. (Anyone want a plague-infected brownie??? *cough cough* No?? Why ever not??)

So I scoured my TBC (to-be cooked) list, and found a recipe for Cheesy Beer Bread that I’d been wanting to try. A quick scan of the ingredients and I knew I had everything. We didn’t have any regular beer left in the fridge, but we did have some pumpkin beer left from a party, because we did NOT enjoy the taste of pumpkin beer. (Finally something pumpkin related that I’m NOT obsessed with.)

So I figured I’d try it out.

And I’m pretty positive that pumpkin beer was MADE for pumpkin beer bread!! It added the slightest hint of pumpkin and tang of beer to the flavor of the bread – but it was so not too much.

This was a great recipe and I will definitely be making it again. It was light and flavorful with an awesome, lumpy, buttery crust. Ohhh I want some now.

I had mine with a fresh batch of my Instant Shepherd’s Pie – hey, I said it was a staple, didn’t I? :)

Cheesy Pumpkin Beer Bread (say whaaa?) – Makes one loaf

Ingredients

3 cups all-purpose flour
2 Tbsp. sugar
1 Tbsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
2 Tbsp. honey or agave nectar
1 bottle (12 ounces) pumpkin (or any kind of) beer
6 Tbsp. butter, melted
1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9″ x 5″ x 3″ inch loaf pan. (I used my new PC Loaf pan and LOVED it! Did not stick at all. :))

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Using a wooden spoon, stir the beer and honey into the dry ingredients until just mixed. If you microwave the honey for about 10 seconds, it’ll be much easier to mix in. ;) Stir in cheese.

Pour half the melted butter into the loaf pan. Then spoon the batter into the pan, and pour the rest of the butter on top of the batter.  At this point I was a liiiiittle freaked out. This stuff looks deadly and FATTY when it’s first poured in. But considering it’s a loaf of bread, it’s not really THAT much butter, right? It’s just the way it’s poured over the dough, right?? :D

Bake for 50 to 60 minutes, until top is golden brown and a toothpick/knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. Mine was steaming and perfect after cooling for about 10 minutes. I also wrapped it and munched on it for the next two days.

I really really enjoyed this bread and will be coming back to this recipe again and again! I think I’ll expirement with a cherry wheat beer and another type of cheese next time. It’s a fun recipe to play around with.

I started with this recipe from Gimme Some Oven and will be bookmarking their blog! Good stuff!

